How To Save Your Dog From Renal Failure

Image

When Pele was diagnosed with acute renal failure the vet had never seen test results that bad in a living dog, she had not told me this yet, but I could see it in her face.  I knew I was in trouble, but I never gave up.  Many doctors feel that kidneys once failed cannot be cured, and many people lose hope and have no idea what to do.  In my opinion, and experience there are many vets that do not know how to administer the proper care.  I am the child of a country doctor who did trade with the local vet.  My mother was a lab technologist.  I am very comfortable around doctors, clinics and hospitals.  I am telling you this because I had to raise holy hell and rain hell fire upon the vet’s around me to get to the point that I could save Pele’s life, because what I did for Pele was with little help I was getting from the veterinary hospital here in Redwood City. I want you to know there is hope, and I want you to know that there is definately a chance:)

The number one thing that needs to happen in the acute stage is to understand that there is hope.  I saved my dog from certain death and it was not the vet I took her to that saved her, Pele clearly needed something much different than what they wanted to do, she was not getting better and they had already gotten almost $1500 out of me that day!!  I was not able to get her into a holistic vet when she was in the acute (dying) stage, there were none taking new clients!  My advice before you read further is to contact a holistic vet immediately if you have not done so already!  Here is a site that lists holistic vets:  http://www.holisticvetlist.com/  Once I realized that the vet wanted to keep Pele over night and it would be an additional $1200 to hook her up to IV and care for her we had to walk away, we did not even have that much in our bank account. So after signing waiver after waiver we went home with Pele that night and prayed that she would make it.  She did.  In the morning I desperately started calling around and tried an old vet of mine who is retired and he told me to give her subcutaneous fluids, to give her an enema immediatly because she was constipated,  and to feed her baby food.  I went back to the vet and got them to show me how to administer the fluids, made them give Pele an enema, and got the needed supplies and went home to take care of Pele myself.  Total costs of all supplies including the water I bought and the food?  $275!!  Much less than the 1000’$ the vet was going to take!!  By that afternoon, after the anti-nausea kicked in, and two bags of fluid, Pele started to come around.  She could hold up her head and she started to drink water and keep it down.  The next day I had to leave her to go to the store and when I got home she met me at the door, the next day I was giving her a warm wash cloth bath and the rest is history.  She not only survived she is thriving!  Looks better now than before it happened!  Here is what I did:
1.  Environment.  This is so important.  Our house is already pretty peaceful, but during this acute phase, I only played soft music.  NO TV!!  I kept Pele clean, comfortable and warm.  I sat with her as much as possible or had someone near her.  I surrounded her with crystals and made sure to concentrate on healing energy.  There were many times I thought Pele was going into cardiac arrest, but with some touch and soothing words she would calm her breathing.  During this period of time she was my main priority.
2.  Increase fluids.  Make sure you are providing the purest water you can find.  If you do not have the proper filter (Brita does not filter out fluoride which is very harmful for the liver & kidneys and can cause a toxicity in the organs of anything that drinks it over time) purchase water filtered by Reverse Osmosis or distilled, I got Pele the best water I could find with added electrolytes. I gave her this water until she was ok. And I shoved water in her face constantly!!! Today we all drink RO water.
3.  Administer subcutaneous fluids.  Right now your pet is extremely dehydrated! The fluids is the single most important thing you can do for your pet right now.  It is the ONLY way for them to flush out the toxins that are killing them!!!  It is not necessary to hook your animal up to an IV costing $1000’s over a period of time. The most common fluid type given to dogs with chronic kidney failure is Lactated Ringers Solution (LRS).  A couple of techniques are: with a syringe, needle and flexible tubing called an extension set, and from a vinyl bag using a solution drip set. You can do this yourself and it is a better choice anyway!!  Ask your vet to teach you how to administer subcutaneous fluids. Most dogs  tolerate being given subcutaneous fluids. You can give about 10-20 ml per kg of body weight (5 -10 ml per pound)  in one spot (e.g. 50 ml for a 10 pound dog) before you move to another location.  It usually takes 6 to 8 hours for all the fluids to be absorbed. Check to see if the previously administered fluids have been absorbed before giving more fluids. Even though the fluids are given on the back, gravity will cause the fluids to accumulate on the belly, so check for residual fluids on the belly before you give more. Check with your veterinarian if the fluids are not being fully absorbed.  Most dogs are easy, cats more difficult. You must find a way to administer the fluids.  Pele was easy. She was so sick she just lied there and let me stick needles in her; however, I have talked with people with cats or other type of dogs that make it difficult, all I can say is with the proper instruction and full confidence on your part, take charge and give your animal this treatment.  You will find a way!  It is the only way!  Cats especially get terrified and it is hard to do this, you will need help.  For cats the vet is very hard on their nervous system, you do not need to go to the vet to give the fluids.  Try everything you can do to do this at home. For cats in general you will probably need two people and will need to restrain your cat and there are actual Feline Restraint Bags. If you cannot get one right away use a fishing net or something with holes that you can contain the cat and administer the syringe of fluids while the cat is contained in the bag.  You can push the cc’s of liquid from the syringe in quickly and then let the cat free. Your vet will tell you how many cc’s each administration and it should be at least 2 times per day.  According to the animals weight and type, there are specific directions on how much or how often.  But feel free to ask questions and use your common sense here, I don’t think Pele would be alive today if I did not drive the vet completely crazy.  Maybe I can save you the frustration, I hope my advice here keeps you from going through what I had to go through.
4.  Get an anti nausea medication.  Constant vomiting is part of the acute phase, here they are very, very sick. It is so very important to get them to stop vomiting now.  They are only dehydrating themselves even more and causing many GI problems from the acid.    You can also use pills little by little to keep them down, but Pele was in such a state she could not even keep water down, so the best way in this case for a dog is by a shot, once a day in the morning right before you give the fluids, just to make sure there is no nausea.  For cats only the pill form is usually given.  If the cat cannot or will not keep the pill down crush up the pill and give them little bits with tuna juice or something they like until they have had enough to be effective.
5.  Enema.  Pele was completely constipated, by her x ray it looked like she had eaten a bucket of rocks!  The vet had done nothing about that, and did not think it was important…but of course you must IMMEDIATELY give them an enema whether they are constipated or not!!!  Modern medicine does not recognize the need/use of enemas yet they have been used for 1000’s of years for their miraculous curative benefits. Do not let your doctor talk you out of this one, I insist! When any-body is going through kidney failure or any life-threating illness, an enema is one of the most important things you can do. It will clean and detox the intestines and stimulate the liver and kidneys. An enema is like giving a blood transfusion and is even better than dialysis in some cases. Having an intestinal tract full of toxins is horrible for the body, Pele’s system had to be working properly for her to survive. Have your vet administer an enema right away! If they won’t do it find one that will or do it yourself. http://www.carolonpets.com/blog/could-a-coffee-enema-save-your-dogs-life/
5.  Food.  Dry food is not a good idea.  Baby food is essential because it is watery and has low protein, sodium, potassium, phosphates, etc.  For now it is important to get nutrients in without shocking a system that is not working right now.  The kidneys have to filter all these things and it is very important to understand that their diet needs to change right now if you want them to survive and thrive, no exceptions!  At first Pele would not eat, but after the anti nausea meds she stopped vomiting!  She then started to eat the baby food with Forti Flora an appetite stimulant enzyme sprinkled on, I gave her as much as she would eat.  After she started to show signs of interest I added one tablespoon of fish oil and one tablespoon of coconut oil, these two are very good for healing nutrition!!!!!  So now you have baby food, fish oil and coconut oil, start to add to this a diet that you make.  During this period of time you need to get the results of the blood tests and urinalysis. This information will help you to know how to make the proper food choices based on the blood results and urinalysis.  They need a special diet now to survive!  You must make a mixture of the highest quality food.  Any food you get from the store or vet is processed and anything processed is harder on the system than natural organic food sources.  Again, the kidneys have to filter out all the chemicals that are used in the processing and the kidney is not working right now!  It makes all the difference in the world for something fighting for its life.  This is how it progressed with Pele:  During the acute phase I started off with baby food then added a high quality raw dog food found in a health food store.  I mixed baby food and this food for a few days together with the FortiFlora, once she showed signs of eating, I started making her food. At the end of this post you will find Pele’s recipe and a recipe for cats.
6.  Nutrition.  Once Pele was stable, I started to look for supplements to help her start her healing process.  Enzymes are so important because they are essential for any absorption issues.  Once an animal’s system is jeopardized they lose their own ability to assimilate nutrients.  Enzymes ensure that is a possibility. The highest quality is very important.  Here is my suggestion, in the beginning get FortiFlora from the vet, over time you should move to this more powerful blend:  Total Biotics — http://total-zymes.com/total-biotics.html  I added fish oil and coconut oil to her food (the nutritional benefits are immense! Internet search on the benefits of fish oil and the benefits of coconut oil). I know alot of people have their own beliefs of what a dog or cat should eat but I have travelled around the world and have seen dogs living off avocados and cats of course living off whatever they can catch.  The truth is that some foods have healing powers like the sweet potato, brown rice, salmon, garlic, eggs, coconut oil and fish oil, and that is what I chose to feed Pele.  For a dog I cannot think of a better diet during this period of time.  See Peles recipe at the end of the post. Along with the probiotics/enzyme blend, add a superfood or multi vitamin.  For Pele I gave her Dog Greens found on this site: http://caninekidneyhealth.com/products.html  They also have different types of renal support and may be helpful for you to rehabilitate your dog after it is stabilized.  And for cats here is a multivitamin:  http://www.onlynaturalpet.com/products/Only-Natural-Pet-Super-Daily-Feline-Vitamins/999011.aspx  I am still looking for better resources for cats so come back to this post to see if I have updated with the new feline resources..
Down the road it was not possible for me to keep making Pele’s food, some people may continue this and I say yes, do it if you can.  But if not here is a wonderful site for holistic dog food:  http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/  I now have Pele on Keen and supplementing her with the enzyme/probiotic, fish oil, and the Dog Greens.
It is very important to supplement their diet.  Choose superfoods. Superfoods contain every possible nutrient, amino acid, vitamin, mineral, etc. This will ensure your pet’s body is getting all the nutrients it will need to start repairing itself from and fighting against disease. Synthetic vitamins and minerals don’t cut it, they are made from dirt, stones, clam shells and even chemicals. They are poorly absorbable and can be toxic. Synthetic substances will put unnecessary strain on your pet’s system. Use herbs to not only help the kidneys repair but to cleanse the blood, strengthen the immune system and to clean and repair the liver. The liver and kidneys are our filtration system, when one is diseased or not working properly it puts more strain on the other organ which may lead to it becoming compromised as well, recirculating toxins within the body causing disease and death.
Apple Cider Vinegar – Once your pet starts eating, try adding apple cider vinegar to their food.  (dogs = 1 tablespoon a day. Cats = 1 to 2 teaspoons per day.) It is essential and will make a big difference. The health benefits are a mile long. See my post: http://180degreelife.com/2012/10/17/the-worlds-greatest-health-drink/
7.  Holistic Vet Assistance.  If you have a good holistic vet I am so happy for you they can be hard to get into with long waiting lists, but if you find yourself in a place like me where there are no holistic vets in your area taking new clients, that is when you may need to take the situation in your own hands with the help of your vet.  Leaving your pet in a cold metal kennel with little or no human connection and without YOU is a big heart breaker, creates all kinds of stressors on the system, even more for cats and in some cases is said to be the reason cats don’t make it as much as dogs.  They get even more stressed!  Can you blame them, there are dogs everywhere!  I am pretty sure that if I left Pele in the vets care she would have died and I would have had a $10,000 vet bill to pay.  Look to this site for a holistic vet near you:  http://www.holisticvetlist.com/   Holistic vet care by phone:  Once I got out of the crazy stage, I started researching on line for more information and came across The Honest Kitchen as a great source for dog food and on this site I found Dr Laurie Coger a holistic vet who does phone consultations and she is amazing!!!
8.  Exercise.  It is important to give your dog exercise.  As soon as they are capable take short walks working back up to a regular routine.  Getting your dog out for walks will make a big difference in its recovery.  Often exercise is only seen as something necessary for keeping fit or to lose weight. Many don’t realize that exercise not only stimulates circulation and strengthens muscles it also strengthens your dog’s organs, intestines and stomach and creates wonderful healing chemicals within the body. Of course common sense must be used if your dog is extremely sick and you should always start off slowly with short walks and build up day by day.
 
9.  Love.  I don’t have to tell you this one.  I know you love your pet!!  At one moment on the worst night we thought we were going to lose Pele and were saying our good byes. The heavy feeling of death was very present and everyone could feel it that was in the room.  I told Pele she could go if she needed to but if she wanted to, I wanted her to stay for a little longer.  My husband and I sat there and watched her in that moment change and come back to life!!  Pele decided to stay!!!  It was the next day that I gave her a warm washcloth bath, cleaned up her bedding, cleaned up the house, got rid of all signs and feelings of death and from that point on we have moved forward.  We have within us the power to heal.  Our bodies are made that way.  With the proper action and care there is hope.  Good luck to you and your beloved pet!!!!
 
10.  Food Once Thriving.  During my research I learned that there are certain things like protein and phosphorous that you will need to ensure are given in the proper amounts.  Their survival will depend on this!  In kidney failure like any other disease, diet is your number one priority. You will need to feed your dog a high quality protein, low phosphorus, highly nutritious whole food diet that avoids any hard to accept, synthetic vitamins and minerals.  Pets in kidney failure need to be given low-protein diets. Excess protein makes the kidneys work too hard and causes further damage.  Make sure you provide a very high quality protein!!!   I used wild salmon, organic chicken, and organic turkey. The kidneys have also lost the ability to bind phosphates and to remove phosphorus from the blood.  Ground up egg shells work perfectly as a phosphate binder.  Grind them to a powder in a coffee grinder and prepare with food.  You will need eggshells to do this and you are in luck because the recipe calls for eggs!  A low protein, low phosphorus diet will allow the kidneys to function the best they can under the circumstances and give your pet a chance to survive.
Pele’s Special Renal Diet – the ingredients are based on a 60 lb dog, adjust your recipe according to the animals weight.
 
ALL ORGANIC BASE = 2 meals

3/4 cup  salmon or turkey      (7g protein per 1oz meat)

4 cups  Brown Rice    (4g protein per cup)

2  Eggs            (6.3 g protein per egg)
1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
I actually cook the eggs in the coconut

2 tablespoon Fish Oil

1/3 cup Sweet Potatoes (4g protein per cup)

1 clove Garlic

ADD WITH EACH MEAL

1 teaspoon Five Leaf Pet Dog Greens

1 teaspoon ground egg shells

1 tablespoon fish oil

1 Forti Flora in the morning, over time you will want to change to the enzyme/probiotic

1/2 intestinal formulae in PM (Pele’s digestive system was in jeopardy so I chose to give her some of a mild herbal laxative that I have.  I gave her 1/2 of a pill because she is 1/2 my weight.  Here is the site where I get my intestinal formula:  https://www.herbdoc.com/index.php/Store/Intestinal-Formula-1-90  I gave her this until I saw a healthy bowel movement and that took about 3 days.
Recipe for brown rice – I make garlic coconut rice for the whole family and everyone including Pele loves it!  In the morning with eggs and Braggs!  Funny everyone is eating the same thing, all organic sweet potatoes, brown rice, salmon, coconut oil, fresh veges and fresh clean water.  Don’t worry about the extra burden cooking for your dog, just feed everyone!!!:)))
  1. Soak rice for 24 hours. Rinse
  2. Put organic brown rice, garlic, coconut oil, and water together in a pot with a lid.  Use the ratio of 2 1/2 cups filtered water to 2 cups of soaked rice.  For each cup put one clove of garlic or more if you like.  And for each cup of rice 1 or 2 tablespoon of coconut oil.
  3. Set the heat to maximum, and bring the rice/water to a boil uncovered.  Then put the lid on the pot, and reduce the heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes.  If your lid has a steam valve, keep it closed.
  4. Turn off the heat, and let the rice sit in the covered pot for another 10 minutes.  I prefer my rice to be slightly chewy, not mushy, so I usually remove the lid after 10 minutes.
  5. Eat and enjoy.  Be careful when you remove the lid, since a lot of steam may escape when you do.

 

 
 
 
 
29 responses to “How To Save Your Dog From Renal Failure

  1. Kidney illness is oftentimes known as renal disease. Polycistic kidney illness is a widespread misspelling of polycystic kidney disease. Grownup polycystic kidney illness is usually an unique disorder from infantile polycystic kidney disease. Adult polycystic kidney illness is often a genetic condition that is inherited in an autosomal dominant style. Kidney Illness in Cats Persistent kidney illness is actually a reasonably typical disorder in cats, in particular geriatric cats. Kidney Illness in Cats Chronic kidney illness is a reasonably typical condition in cats, especially geriatric cats. Cats with current kidney illness may also be far more prone to pyelonephritis simply because they generate dilute urine.:

    My very own web page
    <http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/keratin-smoothing-treatment/

  2. Hello! Can I ask what type of baby food? Brand and what flavor or kind. Have a dog in renal failure and doing fluid therapy, anti-nausea meds, and the 5 leaf pharmacy diet(holistic). Also, how much do you suggest for fluid therapy at a time? I have a 15 lb dog. Thanks SO much for any help!!!

    • Hello,

      I am very sorry to hear you are going through this. I used Newmans organic baby food in turkey and chicken flavors. Here is what I know about Sub Q fluids. You may want to double check with your vet to make sure the amounts are good for your specific situation. My prayers are with you!!!! The most common fluid type given to dogs with chronic kidney failure is Lactated Ringers Solution (LRS). A couple of techniques are: with a syringe, needle and flexible tubing called an extension set, and from a vinyl bag using a solution drip set. You can do this yourself and it is a better choice anyway!! Ask your vet to teach you how to administer subcutaneous fluids. Most dogs tolerate being given subcutaneous fluids. You can give about 10-20 ml per kg of body weight (5 -10 ml per pound) in one spot (e.g. 50 ml for a 10 pound dog) before you move to another location. It usually takes 6 to 8 hours for all the fluids to be absorbed. Check to see if the previously administered fluids have been absorbed before giving more fluids. Even though the fluids are given on the back, gravity will cause the fluids to accumulate on the belly, so check for residual fluids on the belly before you give more. Check with your veterinarian if the fluids are not being fully absorbed.

      I am sure you already know this but the very powerful healing that comes from your touch is more beneficial than you can know. Animals respond very well to loving, healing touch. Please let me know if you have any more questions.

      Sincerely,

      Lyn

      • Lyn
        I’m reading your post and while it’s from 2012 I”m hoping you can help us a bit. We have a chocolate lab who is only 4 1/2 years old (5 in July we hope). She was a rescue and we’ve had her since she was 6 mths. She was diagnosed with acute renal kidney failure this week. What makes her case rare is that other than her eating snow daily for a few weeks (which we didn’t know was an indicator), she showed absolutely no symptoms until she started shivering like she was scared, and her breath smelled a little like iron. The day before we took her to the vet she was slowing in her eating but still eating. NO vomiting, no lethargy, no unusual drinking amounts (again other than the snow), no loss of weight. Her levels were above 13 for caratitine (sp?) and her BUN is off the charts. She has been at the vet for 5 days receiving IV fluid and meds. She at Monday and Tuesday a little, then nothing for dinner Tues. night, at all on Wed. or Thurs. morning. Then she did eat last night and this morning. Her levels have dropped to 11 and we are re-testing today. She is doing well and is no longer in any pain and wagging her tail and wants to walk but her levels still haven’t come down much. We have no idea if this was a hereditary issue that we never knew about or if she got into something. Which I find unlikely because we are so careful wth them and have fenced in yard, not near woods, and we live in Upstate NY which has been bitterly cold and snowy this year. We are taking her home today and the vet thinks it will be good for her but isn’t optimistic about more than a few weeks left. But our vet is also spiritual in nature and believes in miracles as we do. The vet did say that she worries about herbs and acupuncture at this stage because her levels are still high and it could do more harm than good right now. She pooped once on Wed. but hasn’t had any food either. So we are hoping she does so again this weekend. She is so young and we are going to do the food (she loves chicken live and has eaten that-cooked in small amounts) but hasn’t eaten the boiled eggs or wheat bread. She used to love that stuff, so I’m worried that she won’t eat other stuff. We are going to try baby food for now but need to work her up to higher quality protein. Is it possible to get her levels down more? Is it possible to give her more than just a few weeks or months with the stage that she is at? What else can we do to give her as much time as possible with a good quality as well. She is home as of tonight and we know that’s what she wants and we are hoping that helps. Please please please get back to me, or email me personally. Because we are not giving up on her and neither is the vet, but she’s never seen a case quite like this. Our dog has been a surviver because she should of been dead by now with where her levels were in the beginning. I could really use some guidance. Thank you.

  3. Hi, I have a 4 year old Australian Shepherd that suddenly was diagnosed with ARF a few weeks ago. Similar story to yours regarding the Vets opinions and my dogs numbers are through the roof also. She was 25lbs, but has lost over 8lbs recently. I am administering the subQ fluids, a whole slew of medicines and supplements: anti-nausea, appetite stimulants, phosphorous binders, fish oil, etc. I have ordered Rubenal from overseas, which some say works wonders. Have tried so many combinations of foods (similar to the diet you detail here), but she won’t eat or even drink now, so have to feed with a syringe. Vet says there is little time left, but agrees that it is too early to put her down as she is not in any apparent pain and is still alert, though weaker. Curious how long it took for your dog to come back from the brink. Not going to give up yet and do all I can to save her.

    • I am so very sorry to hear! At first she did not eat or drink for about 3 days. There were about 3 more days that I was not sure, but after the enema and sub Q fluids she started to show signs of life. The fluids, appetite stimulators mixed with fish oil and baby food was the first thing she took into her body. Just a little at first then she started to bounce back. Concentrate on high quality fats. Try salmon oil, coconut oil, grass fed unsalted butter or any type of good fat you can think of. Did you give her an enema? If there is a chance of cleaning out her bowels at least those toxins will not be “re-interering” her bloodstream.

      Sending healing wishes!!!

  4. I asked the vet about the enema, he recommended against it, said it would be traumatic at this point. She has seen the renal specialists at Animal Medical Center in NYC, supposedly one of the best animal care facilities in the country. She did have a lot of diarrhea for the first time last night after some hi-cal prescription food. That may have helped clean her out somewhat. I am feeding her farina/egg white/ sweet potato mix alternating with an organic baby food. I spoke to a herbalist in Chinatown, he did suggest an enema with a dilution of rheum officinale, a medicinal rhubarb derivative. Rubenal is the trade name to a supplement made from this that according to some testimonials in dog forums on the web, does wonders over time. Unfortunately it is not available in the US. I am even looking into aromatherapy.

    • I am so sorry you are going through this.

      If she is eating now and actually having some type of elimination that is wonderful. Now just need to heal her insides.

      Hoping you can get the diarrhea under control. Not sure if you have ever heard of Neem but it has some amazing healing benefits for pets as well as people. Here is a link to a powdered neem bark for pets and people on amazon. Read up about it. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00A755S3C/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

      I actually use this for myself and pets for a myriad of things. It is really amazing! I am worried about a doctor that would advise against an enema. Due to the fact that ANY toxins in the body at this point is bad. The liver and kidneys’ first job is to filter toxins out of the blood and when it is not able to do that anymore (meaning what is happening right now) the body dies. It is absolutely essential to have a healthy moving elimination system now. Any more work on the kidneys at this point is not good. But he is right about one thing. The continual stress of going to the vet is NOT good. If this is something you can do yourself at home, and get some help doing the enema. Put some healing herbs in it for diarrhea etc.

      Hoping you are doing ok. Sending healing energy!!

      Lyn

  5. I am also going through this. My dog is 14 years old and her condition came on suddenly. My Vet told me I should put her down, but I refused. He did send me home with a bag, needle and fluids which I have been giving her daily. He told me to give her 20 ml a day, but she only weighs 9 1/2 lbs. I have done this for a few days, but I am going to cut down because I can see that the fluids are building up in her system. He did not give me an anti nausea drug, saying it would be pointless. I have, like you, refused to give up. I feed her through a syringe small k/d canned food, that has been diluted with low sodium broth. The Vet told me this was the only food I should give her, but she hates it. I get up twice during the night and keep her next to me constantly. She has been up walking the last three days, has regular bowel movements, and is drinking a lot of water. My only problem at this point is getting her to eat on her own. She hates the k/d canned food. I have tried cooking chicken and rice, but the Vet said that protein was bad for her kidneys. I have two other dogs, and today I came in the kitchen and found her eating their kibble, which I know is bad for her. I let her eat a very little just because I didn’t want to discourage her eating on her own. The last time I went to the Vet to pick up more needles, he wouldn’t even come out of his office. I know he thinks it’s ridiculous to be trying to save an almost 15 year old Chihuahua. Thank you for your article, it gave me hope. I will try your recipes, and see if she will eat them. He also refused to give me an appetite stimulant.

    • I understand and know that protein is bad for the kidneys at this stage that is why I painstakingly figured out each and every gram of protein and other nutrients that a dog needs at this stage. And that is why I wrote this post. For people who have idoit vets like I had. Did you give her an enema? It is important to flush the kidneys. The kidneys filter the blood every 3 minutes and while the enema is being given it is like a blood transfusion for your dog. It will flush out toxins and give her a chance to recover. You should start to make your dog some food. Follow the guidelines and the protein content will be right. If your vet has given up, then use them for what you need and take care of your dog. As long as she has the will within her there is life and with your help she may live and I cannot think of anything better for you to do with your time:)

      Keep your attitude positive and keep sending her your healing light and love. That heals too.

      Love & Light,

      Lyn

  6. Hi Lynn,

    I was wondering if you still give your dog fluids? My vet told me that my 15 year old dog (15lbs) has chronic renal failure. A few weeks ago she was vomiting, had diarrhea, and was not eating. The vet prescribed lactated ringers, famontidine (for life), and baby food. She didn’t seem to get better so they added bicarb to the LRs and within a few days she came back to life. Acting like a puppy. We were giving her 200cc of fluid daily but she was coughing and the fluid was not absorbing as fast after she was better. I am wondering if I still need to give her so much fluid on a daily basis? Are the fluids based on creatinine levels? Her’s were high. Thank you.

  7. Hi
    I have a 8 year old 110 lbs Newfie mix that developed acute kidney failure while we were out of town. It is thought he might have eaten foam with propylene glycol in it. His BUN and CRE were off the charts and the vet told me hospitalization and IV fluids were not worth trying since the kidneys had failed. ( but that’s what they would do if it was their dog) They administered subcutaneous fluid and sent him home with us to die.I’m not willing to give up and thankfully I found your post online. I have administered an enema and got the vet to give me subcutaneous fluids. I also have an appt with a homeopathic vet tomorrow. My dog Wolfie will not drink water at the
    moment but he will drink a homemade chicken broth I have made up. I was hoping that would give him the
    water he needs. I also have been giving him
    homeopathic cordyceps herb that is supposed to help kidney function. He hasn’t thrown up now in 24 hours which I’m hoping is a good sign.
    My question is did you administer a second enema? You mention a coffee enema but I just did a saline one. And was considering doing a second. I can force electrolyte water in him through syringe too if you think I should. And I just wanted to make sure Pele never had IV fluids. The vets keep telling me that’s the only way to restart the kidneys if they have shut down. Thank you for everything. I’m gonna keep trying!!
    Wendy

  8. My dog just turned two years old in August. Late Monday evening, he consumed leftover Korean BBQ meat (all completely boneless, I’m positive of that). As a result, Tuesday I came home to one loose bowel movement and throw up all over our home. As the day continued, he just was restless, but as night approached, he kept throwing up (liquid at this point, because there was nothing else in his system) and began twitching very lightly. Early morning came and he was twitching much more severely. We rushed him to the ER this morning and they determine he has kidney failure. He is staying there over night and they gave him fluids because he was so dehydrated and medication for nausea. The vet said that it seems that his kidney failure was underlying for some time but they dont know until they run more tests. I wanted to know your opinion on the next step because she ball parked the estimate and it can be anywhere from $3000-$7000, and as a single college student, money is a struggling factor. Please let me know of any possible suggestions

  9. Hello,
    I have a 5 and 1/2 year old bulldog with congenital kidney disease. We have been managing it for a little over a year but recently his levels have sky rocketed and his condition is getting worse and worse. He won’t eat and the IV fluids administered by the vet did not help. I forwarded your story to my vet and asked for her input. She said that your dog was treatable due to the fact that your dog had acute renal failure but my dogs condition is congenital and that it can not be repaired…. Just wondering if you have heard of any dogs with congenital kidney disease being cured or helped with your remedys and tips. I want to do anything and everything I can to help my little boy. He means the world to me. I appreciate any help or feedback.
    Thank you.

  10. I am going through this now with a very young dog (not even 3). What were the bun and creatine levels? I am being hopeful but everything that I have read says kidney failure is not reversible. Your story gives me hope.

    • Most of the advice contained in my post did not come from a traditional western vet, it came from an old school country doctor and lots and lots of research. Today western doctors say there is no cure for cancer when there are actually cures all around the world to do just that. Have faith in such a young dog to rehabilitate its body. It needs proper therapy, proper nutrition, pure water, tranquility & proper rest. If your dog is eating add 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to its food daily. Depending on the damage done to the kidney, I have seen completely irreversible damaged kidneys be rehabilitated. For hope go to this site: http://www.herbdoc.com and read about kidney disease and how to cure it in humans. it can be done in animals too you may need to work with herbs as well during the healing process. The kidney will need all the help it can get to purify, cleanse, rehabilitate and prevail. Blessings to you!!!

  11. Hello,
    I’m also going thru this with my Max. First he wasn’t eating and wouldn’t drink water. its been about 3 weeks and he eats and drinks water, Hes active and goes to the bathroom regularly. I went to the vet and they drew some blood and told me he’s better in some things and worse in others. They said he as toxin building up and his urine isn’t getting better. His protein is getting a little better. I’ve been feeding him baby food and have blended some white chicken with nothing in it excepts some vitamins. I’m lost as to what to do now. They keep insisting on preparing for the worse but I still have faith max will be ok. Any advive would help thanks.

    Gail

  12. Please help me! I am a volunteer @ a local shelter in Yonkers NY, and my first rescue dog Red is very sick. She was diagnosed with CRF about 2 weeks ago. She was initially losing wait rapidly, drinking excessively, and walking very slow, but not bed bound like she is now. I am so happy to have found your site, as I cannot breathe without my old girl. She is about 15 years old, and is very important to me. I am administering LRS @ home, 350 Mel’s daily, and have been force feeding baby food. As of 2 days ago, Red is no longer walking or getting out of bed. The vet has said that nature is taking its course. I cannot give up on my dog and watch her die. The Vet has also said that my dogs whining does not mean that she’s in pain, but is most likely a sign of misery. What do you suggest I try that I already haven’t? Any help will be appreciated. I did read that you recommend a laxative. If so, which should I use? Thanks so much.

    Sincerely,
    Lindell & Red

  13. Hello. I wanted to post that my old girl Red passed away early this morning, after I gave her the Burdock root in tea form. It did make her urinate, but I think it was too late for my old girl. Thanks so much for your site, I wish I had found it sooner.

  14. Hey, I think I have read this post about a million times… I can’t tell you how much this means to me that your little girl, Pele, survived acute renal failure. Henry, my Cairn Terrier, was diagnosed a week ago today. It came as a real shock. My vet has been as helpful as a vet can be, I am about to start calling holistic vets after I post this. But I do have a question… I asked them to do an enema because he hadn’t had a bowel movement in a while. When I went to pick him up from the vet they said they had decided against the enema because of the X-ray they took of his colon. His colon was completely empty… I don’t see how this could be possible because he had eaten, not much but he had still consumed food. He still hasn’t had a regular bowel movement, just drippy diarrhea. What should I do? I wouldn’t mind doing it myself but I’m afraid I might hurt him in the process if nothing is passing through his system. Thank you again for this post, it really has helped my little Henry!

  15. We took my pup (1 1/2 year old sheppard/lab mix) to the vet this past Tuesday because he refused to eat and his eye sight was a little off. The vet gave us the bad news after a blood test and ultrasound that his Kidneys were failing but weren’t sure of the cause (possibly Lymphoma or Lepto). They recommended hospitalization so they could give IV to flush him. Unfortunately I didn’t have the $1500 for the hospitalization, so we opted for the oral meds they offered and the sub-q fluids. Unfortunately his sight has worsened and has started seizing and when we took him back into the vet they said to possibly prepare for the worst. It just breaks my heart and I’m unwilling to give up on him. I just can’t believe this has happened to him at such a young age and so quickly! And not knowing the cause just frustrates me. I’m so glad I found your site because it has given me hope. I’m going to try your suggestions and hope I can save big guy.

  16. Lyn
    Apparently my other post didn’t go through. So I’m sorry if you get this again. I am just finding this and really hope you can respond asap. We have a chocolate lab; she is 4 1/2 years old. We rescued her when she was 6 mths, so we don’t know her congenital history. This week (on Monday) she was diagnosed with Acute Renal Kidney Failure. Her creatitine was super high (don’t know exact level but 13 or over) and her BUN was off the charts. The vet says her case is rare, because technically she should have already been dead or showing severe symptoms. She showed no signs or symptoms of this accept eating snow daily for a few weeks (which we didn’t know was an indicator). She started shivering like she was scared over the weekend and on Sunday night was slowing in her eating, but was still eating. That’s when I took her to the vet. There was no lethargy, she was still climbing on furniture, wagging tail, playing and running, barking, eating, drinking normally and peeing and pooping. It was the shivering and the slowing in the eating that made me take her in. But there was no vomiting or anything else. Even her gums still looked pink (but vet said just slightly off). She has been at the vet for 5 days now receiving IV fluids and meds to flush out the toxins. She ate on Monday night, Tues. morning. But then did not eat Tues. night, all day Wed. or Thurs. morning. She did eat last night finally and again this morning (friday). But she only wants chicken liver (cooked). She ate a little chicken last night but doesn’t eat much of it or the boiled eggs (which she used to gobble up). We are taking her home tonight and vet is putting her on anti stomach stuff to increase her appetite. she seems more her old self, wants to walk a lot, wagging her tail and happier but her levels in 5 days of IV have only dropped to 11. We are re-testing before we take her home but I am worried about this. She did poop on Wed. but not since, since she hasn’t eaten. We are hoping she poops over the weekend. The vet is stumped as too how this could happen to a dog this young and since we don’t know the hx we don’t know the cause. We have a fenced in yard, and it’s 0 degrees up here with lots of snow right now (even in march). I don’t keep grapes, or lily plants in the house and I can’t think of anything she would have gotten into that would cause this severe a problem. So we don’t have a cause other than it was hereditary and we didn’t know. I’m worried what to do for food if she won’t eat the eggs and chicken (I don’t think chicken liver would help her right now even though she likes it). We are going to try baby food, the oils, and then maybe salmon and chicken; she is eating the liver, just not much else. And she’s not vomiting at all after eating either. But it’s her levels that haven’t decreased much. Is there any hope for her? (of course I believe there is and our vet said she believes in miracles) but the vet thinks she may only have a few weeks. I think she could have longer but need to know what to do to give her the most time possible with good quality. I don’t want her to suffer (which right now she’s not, she’s happy and not in pain at all). Is it possible her levels could still come down more after 5 days? What else can we do at home for her to help give her time? The vet, who is also certified in holistic as well as medical primary, said acupuncture or herbs right now could harm more than help her due to the stage she’s in and her levels. Is there anything we can do at home to help get those toxins out and decrease those levels. She’s so young and such a great dog, we want to give her as much time as we can. Please please help. We bring her home tonight. If you could reply I would greatly appreciate it! Thank you.

    • I am sorry to hear the your beautiful lab is sick. I have a few questions before I can understand her situation more.
      1. You wrote IV fluids. That is different that Sub Q. IV drips slowly, where Sub Q is “absorbed” by the body at its own speed, IV is dripped right into the veins….uggg. Sub Q how I learned it from my doctor is more effective at that stage to help the body “flush” the liver and kidneys that are so very toxic along with hydrating it. That alone, along with the enema did more for Pele than anything when she was near death. Is her elimination perfect? If not she needed to receive an enema. If the bowels are toxic and compacted, all those toxins are going back into the already toxic kidneys and liver. It is too much for the system. It is like trying to poop in a clogged toilet! Egg shells are a natural way to get the levels down but you are going to have that conversation with your vet. Are you giving her enzymes? The only way a body can assimilate anything is through the various enzymes present in the body. Enzymes are essential.

      There is so much information in my blog and I am not sure what part you have tried and it was all of what I did combined that saved Pele, she was gone and that is what brought her back.

      I hope this helps.

      Hoping for a perfect recovery!

      Blessings!

      Lyn

  17. Thank you for sharing this. Our sweet girl Ruby went into acute renal failure one week ago today. We brought her home from the vet, after a five day stay. She wouldn’t touch her K/d diet, and was very weak. I came across your post and decided to try your recipe. She licked her bowl clean and an hour later she had her favorite toy in her mouth! I know it’s going to take some time for her to recover, but things are moving a little faster now.
    Thanks again for your share!

  18. Reading your text makes me feel better on how to treat my dog Bebe who is diagnosed with Kidneys failure and Pancreatitis inflammation. Vet said its not ideal for him to live long. But i not giving up. As long its can prolong his life to months which is a bonus to us. Just a very important to ask you, is Five leaf pet dog greens good for them in recovery or let say drop their crea result. My dog current result was 3.2 and he was actually 2.7 after he was on drip. But i do not understand how come its went up and she told me is very unlikely will go down again. Well everything happen for a reason and i need to home nurse him myself instead. No point in hospital for him, and that the best they can do for us. All I want do is to show them shock results after I done another blood test in a week.

    • Ahh, Sweet Pele. She lived for another 1 and half and started to get seizures. This was before I knew about cannabis as a treatment and she finally had to be put down. It was hard to see her go that way after we won the battle of the kidney failure, but it was wonderful having her for longer. She was so beautiful right up to the end. We took special trips and was glad to have her with us for a little while longer.

Leave a Reply

